New IPC Governing Board Elected

22 Nov 2009 By IPC

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Today, the members of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) present in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, for the 2009 IPC General Assembly (GA) elected a new Governing Board. It was the largest GA to date, with more than 350 participants from 100 National Paralympic Committees, five Regions, four IOSDs (International Organizations for the Disabled) and 22 Sports.

Sir Philip Craven (Great Britain) was re-elected President with 118 votes out of 130 possible for another four year term. Greg Hartung (Australia) was elected Vice-President by majority receiving 66 votes.

The following people were elected Member at Large:

Dato' Zainal Abu-Zarin, Malaysia

Mr. Jose Luis Campo, Argentina

Ms. Ann Cody, USA

Mr. Alan Dickson, Great Britain

Mr. Ali Harzallah, Tunisia

Ms. Hyang-Sook Jang, Korea

Mr. Patrick Jarvis, Canada

Mr. Andrew Parsons, Brazil

Mr. Miguel Sagarra, Spain

Ms. Rita van Driel, The Netherlands

The IPC Chief Executive Officer Xavier Gonzalez and the Chairperson of the IPC Athletes’ Council, Bob Balk, are also ex-officio members of the IPC Governing Board.

The Governing Board is the representative of the IPC Membership, elected at the General Assembly in accordance with nomination and election procedures adopted by the IPC Membership at the 2004 Extraordinary General Assembly. The GB is responsible for overseeing the affairs of the IPC in between meetings of the General Assembly. It is comprised of 15 members and holds meetings at least three times a year.

The IPC GB is primarily responsible for the implementation of policies and directions set by the GA. Additionally, the Governing Board provides recommendations on membership (conditions for membership and fees) to the General Assembly, including motions received from members. It is also responsible for approving budgets and audited accounts, IPC Rules and Regulations, membership of IPC Committees and the Paralympic Games.


Notes to the Editor:

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is the global governing body of the Paralympic Movement. The IPC organizes the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games, and serves as the International Federation for nine sports, for which it supervises and co-ordinates the World Championships and other competitions. The IPC is committed to enabling Paralympic athletes to achieve sporting excellence and to developing sport opportunities for all persons with a disability from the beginner to elite level. In addition, the IPC aims to promote the Paralympic values, which include courage, determination, inspiration and equality.

Founded on 22 September 1989, the IPC is an international non-profit organization formed and run by more than 160 National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) from five regions and four disability specific international sports federations (IOSDs). The IPC Headquarters and its management team are located in Bonn, Germany.

For further information, please contact Steffi Klein, IPC Media & Communications Senior Manager, on tel: +49-170-3899982, e-mail: or go to