IWBF announces European Championship schedules

Host nation Spain will open against the Turkish men and Swiss women on 21 June. 04 Mar 2017
female wheelchair basketball player Laura Fuerst fighting with another player for the ball
ⒸGetty Images
By International Wheelchair Basketball Federation

The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) has released both the men and women’s schedules for the European Championships 2017, from 19 June – 1 July in Tenerife, Spain.

Opening games will see the host men’s and women’s teams take on Turkey and Switzerland, respectively, on 21 June after the Opening Ceremony.

On day two, the German women will take on Great Britain, who stunned the reigning European champions during the group stages at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

In the men’s competition the Netherlands will open the day against Poland.

The games will take place over two venues in Costa Adeje, the main court will be the Pabellon Polideportivo las Torres and the second court Pabellon Polideportivo el Galeon.

All games will be streamed live together with the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) LiveStats.

For more information about the tournament and for the full schedule visit:

Men’s Competition.

Women’s Competition.