Klovsjo 2019: World Cup winners decided

Snowboard-cross races close out 2018-19 season 09 Apr 2019
male Para snowboarder Patrick Mayrhofer rides in front of another snowboarder

Patrick Mayrhofer claimed the overall title for 2018-19 in the men's SB-UL

ⒸLuc Percival
By World Para Snowboard

Riders signed off the 2018-19 World Para Snowboard season in style, with World Cup title winners being decided after Monday’s Finals in Klovsjo, Sweden.

The last day of action concluded with two snowboard-cross races; and saw Alex Massie, Patrick Mayrhofer and Chris Vos all collect the necessary points to become their category’s overall champions.

Mayrhofer’s moment

Austria’s Mayrhofer was crowned this season’s overall World Cup champion for the men’s SB-UL, thanks to his double victory on Monday.

In a four-way big final, Mayrhofer held off Australia’s Simon Patmore in one race. That was just enough to put him ahead of the Paralympic champion in the overall World Cup rankings.

A pair of fifth-place finishes did not matter for Jacopo Luchini. The Italian still had enough points during the season’s circuit to earn the snowboard-cross title.

Vos pushes to top

Dutch star Vos is leaving Klovsjo as the overall World Cup champion in the men’s SB-LL1. His pair of wins confirmed his top-ranked status, as he battled competition from Austrians Reinhold Schett and Rene Eckhart.

Schett, however, reached the podium twice on Monday and that was enough to crown him the SB-LL1 border-cross title winner.

Double titles for Massie

A pair of golds for Massie, on the other hand, did result in the overall and snowboard-cross crystal globes for the 2018-19 World Cup season.

The Canadian beat out the likes of 2019 world champion Keith Gabel of the USA in one race; and Gabel’s teammate Zach Miller in the other final. With Monday’s triumphs, Massie jumped ahead of Australia’s Ben Tudhope, who finished second in both the overall and border-cross rankings.

Bunschoten unbeatable

The women’s SB-LL2 races were an all-Dutch affair that saw double world champion Lisa Bunschoten close her dominant season with a bang.

The 23-year-old added the overall and snowboard-cross World Cup globes to her gold medals from the Pyha 2019 World Championships two weeks ago.

France’s Cecile Hernandez was awarded the women’s SB-LL1 overall and snowboard-cross World Cup titles. China's Lu Jiangli was named the women's SB-UL overall winner.

Complete results and rankings from the 2019 World Cup Finals in Klovsjo are available on World Para Snowboard’s website.