World Wheelchair-B Curling Champs schedule out

Competition will begin on 4 November in Lohja, Finland. 30 Sep 2016
Slovakia Curling Team

Slovakia's Wheelchair Curling team has certainly drawn attention to itself this season with strong performances.

ⒸWheelchair Curling Federation
By World Curling Federation and IPC

The World Wheelchair Curling Federation (WCF) has announced the schedule for the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2016 (WWhBCC).

The B-Championship will take place 4-10 November in Lohja, Finland, host of last year’s Championship.

Sixteen teams will take part in the tournament. Group A consists of England, Israel, Italy, Scotland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Sweden and Turkey. Group B includes the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Japan, Latvia, Poland and Chinese Taipei.

Round-robin play will run 4- 9 November, with qualification games held later on 9 November. Semi-finals and medals games will follow on 10 November.

The top-two finishers will move up to the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2017 in PyeongChang, South Korea – host of the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

Last year, Norway and South Korea qualified for the World Championship 2016 after taking gold and silver, respectively, in the B-Championship. Norway went on to take the silver in this year’s World Championship in Lucerne, Switzerland, while Finland’s last-place finish bumped them down to the B-Pool.

The full schedule for the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship can be found on the WCF’s website.

To engage with the WCF on social media follow them on Twitter, Instagram (@WorldCurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting:

Generic: #curling #Roadto2018

Event specific: #wwhcc2016