Imagen
23008-Pepijn de Groot photo

Pepijn de Groot

Athletics

Biography

Impairment information

Type of Impairment
Limb deficiency
Origin of Impairment
Congenital
Classification
T64

Further personal information

Family
Partner Nienke de Hoogh
Residence
Hoofddorp, NED
Occupation
Student
Languages
Dutch, English
Higher education
Coaching, Sport Studies - Johan Cruyff College: Amsterdam, NED

Sport specific information

When and where did you begin this sport?
He took up Para athletics in 2014 at the AV Haarlemmermeer club in Hoofddorp, Netherlands.
Why this sport?
He wanted to find a sport he could compete in at the Paralympic Games, so in 2013 he attended a Paralympic talent day in the Netherlands. He first tried cycling before choosing athletics as he was attracted by the explosiveness of sprinting. "At age nine or 10 I was looking for a sport to practise, I was always rejected, nobody knew what to do with my impairment. Eventually I ended up rowing. I did this for seven years, but there were no opportunities for me to improve with the main team. So I made the choice to go to the Paralympic Talent Day, where I came into contact with athletics. With this sport I try to improve every day and get the best out of myself, to show that practising sport with an impairment is possible and nothing is impossible."

International debut

Year
2014
Competing for
Netherlands
Location
Berlin, GER

General interest

Nicknames
Peppi (Facebook profile, 21 Aug 2018)
Injuries
He had injuries in the winter of 2017. (Facebook page, 21 Aug 2018)

His 2016 season was disrupted by an inflamed Achilles tendon in his left foot. (pepijndegroot.nl, 2017)

He had injuries that affected his right leg throughout 2015. (pepijndegroot.nl, 2017)
Sporting philosophy / motto
"It is possible to be demotivated, but giving up isn't an option.'' (stichtingpara-atletiek.org, 2018)
Other sports
He competed in able-bodied rowing for seven years at junior national level. (pepijndegroot.nl, 2017)
Impairment
He was born without the lower part of his right leg, and with an impairment to his right hand and left foot. (pepijndegroot.nl, 2017)
Other information
BREAK
In April 2019 he announced that he would take a break from Para athletics due to recurring pain and other physical problems. "For months I've been walking with complaints all over my body. Pain to my joints, pain when someone touches me and being tired quickly. This doesn't only stop me when working out, I also have a lot of trouble in everyday life. My health is the primary thing and there are many other things I would also like to do. I'm going to work on my health, the fun in sport and get everything in the right setting for myself. For now I'm releasing the top sport and I'm going to develop myself in other areas." (Facebook page, 15 Apr 2019; LinkedIn profile, 15 Apr 2019)

OTHER STUDIES
In 2019 he began studying cyber security at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences [Hogeschool van Amsterdam] in the Netherlands. "As a child I grew an interest in national defence. I wanted to become a soldier. As a person with impairment, it was unfortunately not possible. Now the world is changing. Wars are no longer fought with weapons, terrorism is no longer committed with weapons. Technology is what will soon be the new tool. This made me decide to start studying cyber security at the Hogeschool van Amsterdam. I want to serve the country soon." (LinkedIn profile, 15 Apr 2019)

COACHING
He is a classified fitness coach and has been a youth coach at the AV Haarlemmermeer club in the Netherlands. (LinkedIn profile, 15 Apr 2019)